All people are equal before the law. However, a good attorney makes a significant difference.

Annulment Qualifications in Texas

On Behalf of | Feb 4, 2020 | Divorce

In certain cases, an annulment can be issued instead of a traditional divorce.

  1. In Texas, the minimum age for marriage is 14. Additionally anyone 14-18 whose parents did not consent to the marriage can request an annulment and it be granted. After they turn 18, however, a divorce must be filed instead.
  2. If either party is impotent, the marriage can be annulled.
  3. Entering a marriage under false pretenses can result in an annulment if fraud was involved.
  4. If the marriage was entered under duress or force.
  5. If a party can prove they did not have the mental capacity to enter the marriage under sound mind, a psychological annulment could be made.
  6. Any marriage occurring before the 72 hour mark from the issuance of a marriage license is subject to annulment as Texas law requires 72 for a marriage ceremony to take place.
  7. If either party has gotten a divorce within 30 days is illegal as is a marriage where one or both parties are previously married. Once a divorcee has been divorced for over 30 days, the marriage can be validated.
  8. Contact a lawyer if you have a unique situation that does not fit neatly into one of these categories for a review of your personal case.

Find More Information on Divorce